We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue using our website, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Leith Hill Musical Festival website. Further information on cookies and how to change your settings is available here.

; The Dorking Halls was built to house the Festival and opened in 1931; 'Song for a Spring Festival', written by RVW to celebrate the Festival's 50th year, may only be performed at the Festival; RVW retired as Festival Conductor in 1953, but continued to conduct the St Matthew Passion until 1958; Whilst living in Dorking, RVW composed works including Serenade to Music, Symphonies 4 - 7 and The Pilgrim's Progress; RVW conducted the first combined choirs concert at the Festival on 10 May 1905; The first competition day at the Festival exclusively for children was held in 1921; In 1934 the BBC broadcast part of the Festival performance of Dream of Gerontius; The first Festival performance of the St Matthew Passion in 1931 had 800 singers;

Leith Hill Musical Festival
Bringing choirs together
for competitions and concerts in Dorking since 1905

Registered charity number 275176

Events and tickets

Soloists and Award Winners

The soloists for our 2015 concerts were as follows:


Sunday March 8th - Handel Messiah


Sarah Power (Soprano)

Diana Moore (Contralto)

Thomas Elwin (Tenor)

Marcus Farnsworth (Bass)


Thursday April 9th - Mozart Requiem


Daisy Brown (Soprano)

Marta Fontanals-Simmons (Contralto)

Guy Elliott (Tenor) - LHMF Award winner

David Shipley (Bass)


Friday April 10th - Mendelssohn Hymn of Praise


Daisy Brown (Soprano)

Robyn Allegra Parton (Soprano)

Thomas Elwin (Tenor)


Saturday April 11th - Schubert Magnificat & Hadyn Spring (from the Seasons)


Sarah Power (Soprano)

Amy Lyddon (Contralto) - supported by the Josephine Baker Trust

Nicholas Scott (Tenor)

Jon Stainsby (Bass)



The Leith Hill Award


In 1982 at the suggestion of William Llewellyn, Festival Conductor from 1981 to 1995, the Festival adopted a policy of offering an annual Leith Hill Award. This goes to a singing student at one of the London music colleges nominated as outstanding by each of the colleges in rotation. The Award takes the form of an engagement with a fee well above the normal student rate. The latest award winner is tenor Guy Elliott, who will be one of the soloists in Mozart's Requiem on Thursday 9th April 2015.


The complete list of LHMF Award winners is:


2015 Guy Elliott

2014 Anna Rajah

2013 Richard Dowling

2012 Ashley Riches

2011 Edward Grint

2010 Ruth Jenkins

2009 Rhona McKail

2008 Sarah-Jane Lewis

2007 Rebecca Hodgetts

2006 Adrian Ward

2005 Timothy Mead

2004 Lucy Crowe

2003 Benjamin Hulett

2001 William Towers

2000 Christian Immler

1999 Leigh Woolf

1998 Diana Moore

1997 Konrad Jarnot

1996 Mark Wilde

1995 Christopher Maltman

1994 Jane Stevenson

1992 Paul McCann

1991 Roger Langford

1990 Julie Gossage

1989 Richard Edgar-Wilson

1988 Gaynor Keeble

1987 Sarah Pring

1986 Lorna Anderson

1985 Carol Green

1984 Peter Harvey and Carol Smith

1983 Helen Kucharek

1982 Geraint Roberts